discover legal logo
header 680x300

Catherine BesendahlCatherine Besendahl graduated from university having read Applied Business Languages and International Management (Business Sinology) in Bremen, North Germany. She also holds the qualification which allows her to interpret and translate in public authorities and at courts in Germany. She spent a long time working as an event manager in Germany and abroad as well as working as a consultant for German and Chinese business relations.

Translator, interpretor and pioneer

Translation and interpreting have accompanied Catherine throughout her professional life, e.g. consulting German companies dealing with China or supporting Chinese companies setting up business in Germany.

She has participated in translating a book at the University of Marburg and has supported important international events at the Handelskammer Hamburg, such as the Hamburg Summit "China meets Europe" as well as the "8th German World Bank Forum". Catherine has been translating legal, economic and financial texts since graduating from university and has been working as a full-time translator since 2006.

Multi-lingual since birth

Catherine BesendahlCatherine's parents were brought up in Australia and Mexico, they both spoke 4 to 5 languages, therefore Catherine has never known life could be lived in just one language. With English as the family language and being born and brought up in Germany, Catherine has been bilingual since birth. Catherine was able to continuously learn new languages at school: Chinese, Ancient Greek and Latin.

Having finished secondary school with her Abitur certificate in her pocket, it was Catherine's wish to connect her love of languages with her profession. She decided to study Sinology and Business, a university course with the aim of teaching individuals to mediate between the cultures. A one year stay in China during her time at university course strengthened Catherine's Chinese language skills and confirmed the direction her life was to take.

Sworn-in, well-versed, with a passion for perfect terminology

Catherine took on various challenges constantly learning new skills and extending her knowledge of languages. She worked for the Chinese tour operator CAISSA Touristic AG as Public Relations manager and was responsible for production management, project control and service management for several exhibition fairs and projects both in Germany and abroad in countries like France, China, Greece and the US for the event agency plan-j gmbh.

Having successfully graduated from the post graduate course "Translator and Interpreter for the Courts and Public Authorities" Catherine was able to live her true passion for legal translations.

Catherine is devoted to finding the perfect match in her languages for tricky legal definitions in the respective legal systems. "An insight into new fields, situations and cases widens your horizons," is Catherine's conviction with more than language in mind. When Catherine isn't translating or interpreting, she can surely be found at seminars or events related to law – always on the look-out for the "right" terminology.

discover legal logo
header 680x300

Catherine BesendahlDie Diplom-Wirtschaftssinologin studierte in Bremen angewandte Weltwirtschaftssprachen (Betriebswirtschaft und Sinologie) und verfügt zudem über die Berechtigung zum "Dolmetschen und Übersetzen an Behörden und Gerichten". Lange Zeit war sie als Eventmanagerin im In- und Ausland tätig sowie auch als Beraterin für chinesisch-deutsche Geschäftsbeziehungen.

Übersetzerin, Dolmetscherin und Pionierin

Ihr beruflicher Werdegang ist geprägt von zahlreichen Projekten, die Übersetzungs- oder Dolmetschtätigkeiten beinhalteten, z.B. Beratung deutscher Unternehmen im Austausch mit China oder Unterstützung chinesischer Unternehmen bei der Erschließung des deutschen Marktes.

Sie wirkte bei der Übersetzung eines Buchprojektes der Universität Marburg mit und auch bei wichtigen Veranstaltungen der Handelskammer Hamburg, wie z.B. dem Hamburg Summit "China meets Europe" oder dem "8th German World Bank Forum". Seit ihrem Studium übersetzt Catherine Besendahl Wirtschafts-, Finanz- und juristische Texte. Seit 2006 arbeitet sie Vollzeit als freiberufliche Übersetzerin.

Sprachenvielfalt von Geburt an

Catherine BesendahlDie sprachliche Vielfalt wurde Catherine Besendahl quasi in die Wiege gelegt. Ihre Eltern, aufgewachsen in Australien und Mexiko, sprachen beide 4 – 5 Sprachen, unterhielten sich untereinander auf Englisch und ermöglichten somit ihrer Tochter zweisprachig aufzuwachsen. Ihre Sprachebenen konnte die gebürtige Hamburgerin während ihrer Schulzeit auch kontinuierlich ausbauen – Chinesisch, Latein und Altgriechisch kamen hinzu.

Nach dem Abitur rückte das Bedürfnis Sprachen und Beruf miteinander zu koppeln in den Vordergrund. Sie entschied sich für das Studium der Wirtschaftssinologie, einem kombinierten Studium aus Chinesisch, Wirtschaft und Landeskunde, welches darauf ausgelegt ist Mittler zwischen den Kulturen auszubilden. Ein studienbegleitender einjähriger Aufenthalt in China festigte die Sprachkenntnisse und war richtungsweisend.

Vereidigt, versiert und verliebt in die perfekte Terminologie

Catherine Besendahl wagte sich an unterschiedliche Tätigkeitsfelder heran, nutzte ihre Sprachkenntnisse und baute sie kontinuierlich aus. Sie arbeitete für den chinesischen Reiseveranstalter CAISSA Touristic AG als PR Managerin und übernahm für die Event-Agentur plan-j gmbh die Produktionsleitung, Projektsteuerung bzw. das Servicemanagement für zahlreiche Messen und Projekte im In- und Ausland, wie Frankreich, China, Griechenland und die USA.

Das Studium zur Übersetzerin und Dolmetscherin für Behörden und Gericht war dann der Durchbruch für juristische Übersetzungen.

Für knifflige Legaldefinitionen der Rechtssysteme verschiedener Sprachen die beste Entsprechung zu finden ist ihre Leidenschaft. Der Einblick in neue Gebiete, Sachverhalte und Fälle erweitert den Horizont, und zwar nicht nur den sprachlichen. Wenn sie einmal nicht übersetzt oder dolmetscht, findet man sie auf einer fachbezogenen Fortbildung oder juristischen Veranstaltung – immer auf der Suche nach der "richtigen" Terminologie.